Our Team

The Commons Logo

The Commons staff is a team of energetic and skilled professionals driven to create and deliver safe, inclusive, and educational experiences for all VCU students. The Commons staff, including housekeeping and student employees, work around the clock to keep all our buildings, events, and programs running efficiently. Student employees, graduate assistants, and our housekeeping staff are not included in this directory.

 

Thomas N. Hollins, Jr., Ed.D
Interim Director
hollinst2@vcu.edu
804.828.3261

 

Tre Straughter
Administrative Office Coordinator
straughtertr@vcu.edu
804.828.3954

Administrative/General

Finance   

George Kelly
Associate Director, Financial Management
Division of Student Affairs
gpkelly@vcu.edu
804.828.3850 

Marketing 

Laura O'Brien
Marketing & Special Events Manager
lbobrien@vcu.edu
804.828.0555 

 

Facilities, Operations, and Event Services

Jennifer Chapman
Associate Director of Facilities, Operations & Event Services 
jlchapman2@vcu.edu
804.828.3527 

Facilities and Operations

Lauren Gyurisin
Assistant Director of Operations and Facilities

James Gross
Technical Services Manager
grossj2@vcu.edu
804.828.3499 

Stella Ho
Facilities Coordinator
hose@vcu.edu
804.828.4005

Gene Knight
Housekeeping Manager
gaknight@vcu.edu
804.828.3980

Richard Delaney
Housekeeping Supervisor 2nd shift
804.828.9523 

Housekeeping Team:

"Tony" Brown
1st Shift Floor Tech

Xavier Gardner 
2nd Shift Floor Tech 

Cynthia Conyers
1st Shift Housekeeper

Marie Trent 
1st Shift Housekeeper

Diane Fraierson
2nd Shift Housekeeper

Donnell West
Housekeeper - Hunton Student Center

Earl Jones
Part-time Housekeeping

Event Services 

Tyler Jarrett
Assistant Director for Event Services
tljarrett@vcu.edu
804.828.1302

Kelly Kitchen
Event Coordinator 
kitchenkm@vcu.edu
804.827.3621

Savannah J. Smith
Event and Systems Coordinator
smithsj2@vcu.edu
804.828.3143

Student Leadership & Engagement

Tommy Otterbine
Associate Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
tmotterbine@vcu.edu
804.828.3419

Nicole Patterson
Interim Assistant Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
nlpatterson@vcu.edu
804.828.4381

Justin Raibolt
Coordinator for Leadership & Student Organizations
jraibolt@vcu.edu
804.828.1582

Donté Sharpe
Coordinator for Leadership & Student Organizations
dsharpe2@vcu.edu
804.828.6504

Bria Taylor
Coordinator for Student Programming 
taylorbc7@vcu.edu
804.828.4458

Vanessa Lemus
Interim Coordinator for Civic Engagement
Valemusvs@vcu.edu
804.828.1459

Nico Orsini
Interim Coordinator for Civic Engagement
orsinin@vcu.edu
804.828.3475